Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our page where you can find out more about the Governors role and who they are; if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.


Governing Body


The Governing Body is made up of twelve people, three foundation (church) governors, three parent governors, three community governors and three staff governors. Details of who’s who is at the bottom of this page.


Our responsibilities


As Governors we are responsible for setting the strategic vision and objectives for the school, monitoring progress and maintaining standards and setting and monitoring the budget. In order to do this we work closely with staff in the school supporting and challenging them in the work that they do. This is often described as acting as a “critical friend” to the school.


We do this by examining the data, meeting with staff and regularly visiting school to look at what happens. There is a Governor linked to each class and some to specific areas such as Safeguarding and Special Educational Needs.




The full Governing Body meets four times a year, with three committees meeting once a term throughout the school year. se are Curriculum and Standards, Finance and Personnel and Health and Safety.


Curriculum and Standards – this is where we monitor progress and achievement of pupils and ensure standards are maintained. It is where we follow up on actions from Church (SIAM’s) and Ofsted Inspection reports.

Finance and Personnel – this committee is where the budget is set, reviewed and monitored. It also looks at all staffing issues.

Health and Safety –all aspects of health and safety are dealt with by this committee which includes safeguarding and premises management.


Mrs Johnston attends the last two of these two committees, as well as the full governing body meetings, in her role as School Business Manager.


Montsaye Community Learning Partnership (MCLP)


Wilbarston has been part of MCLP since 2014; this is a Multi Academy Trust (MAT) which is a formal collaboration of eight academies. They include Rothwell Infants School, Rothwell Junior School, Rushton Primary School, Havelock Infants School, Havelock Junior School, Loatlands Primary and Montsaye Academy as well as Wilbarston.


Clare Holden

Chair of Governors

Picture 1 Clare Holden- Chair of Governors
Picture 2 Andrea Green - Headteacher
Picture 3 Shane Ross - Vice Chair of Governors
Picture 4 Sally Hughes- Foundation Governor
Picture 5 Dawn Timmins- Community Governor
Picture 6 Lucy Sheen -Staff Governor
Picture 7 Sharon Crompton - Staff Governor
Picture 8 Anji Mirkovic - Parent Governor
Picture 9 Chris Keirby -Community Governor
Picture 10 Hannah Hall- Parent Governor